Platonic

By: ailsaandlisa

Jan 23 2013

Category: free verse, poem

1 Comment

Sometimes I want to grab
what you say,
shut my eyes and heft it,
run my hands over it:
a fired-clay sculpture,
smooth, right, still warm

I hold your say
and I know, I know
what words of mine
could lie alongside it

I give you two handfuls of them
and you say
yes, yes, they are just right
shining and dark, drenched
by a spring storm

I gasp, feeling the rain,
and you look at me and grin
and we lift each other’s words
above our heads

this is our prize:
we are not alone

 

One comment on “Platonic”

  1. Another beautiful poem from the dynamic duo.


Leave a Reply

