School Trip

By: ailsaandlisa

Jun 26 2012

Category: poem, triolet

8 Comments

The big black beanbag is readerless,
but Lili will be back on Friday.
The house is half-empty of moodiness:
the big black beanbag is readerless.
Though parenting can be tedious
I fear the years when every day
the big black beanbag is readerless.
But Lili will be back on Friday.

8 comments on “School Trip”

  1. I actually felt a wave of grief, at the loss of my little girl, reading this. My little boy(17) left a few years ago now.

  2. She will always be your baby. Hope she’s having a fantastically grown-up evening, though!

  3. I was very moved by this poem because that time comes oh so soon and the feeling never goes away but life goes on and you learn to keep it very deeply buried.

  4. Sad and particularly relevant. My little man starts middle school in September and I can not believe how sad I feel at the speed in which he is growing up. Another beautiful poem Ailsa.

  5. Thank you… and all the best for September. An exciting time as well as a scary one! x


Leave a Reply

