Maturity

By: ailsaandlisa

Jan 13 2012

Category: free verse, poem

4 Comments

I fully understand
that the world doesn’t
owe me a living,
that happiness won’t
be handed to me
on a plate

I have accepted that
promises of rose gardens
will be broken

I have given up the search
for streets paved with gold,
learnt that,
road-wise,
cobbled is as good as it gets

I know
that nowhere is Paradise

that spring will lose its freshness
that summer will cool
that winter has no mercy

Yet still
I would love
the moon on a stick

4 comments on “Maturity”

  1. Dylan thinks the photograph is excellent and I enjoyed the poetry.
    Thank you.
    Jane Reeves and Dylan (aged 8).

  2. Love the spooky photo and utterly fabulous poem! 🙂

  3. Great idea to augment the impact of poems with a photo! This one works so well.

    This reinforces an idea a blogger in N Carolina and I have had to bring out a compilation, with illustrations. Thanks!

  4. I love this! hope everlasting.


Leave a Reply

