Hands

By: ailsaandlisa

Jul 20 2011

Category: poem

1 Comment

Aperture:f/11
Focal Length:28mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/640 sec
Camera:E-520

We bought the ship together, you and I,
but most days I’m the only crew on board.
You row away first light to work on shore
I don’t know how you toil the hours away.
I’ve lived so long at sea that all the years
I spent on land are like another’s dream.

My hands are busy hanging out the sails
or in the galley making healthy meals.
The decks need scrubbing every now and then.
When weather’s bad they go below and I
provide the entertainment: dance a jig
or tell tall tales from lands I’ve never seen.

Then you return. The passengers retire
to tiny hammocks hung with strings of lights
to dream of pirates, monsters, caves of gold
and we are still and quiet and wait for dark.
At night our hands find work to set, not ship,
not sea, nor sky, but skin and sex aflame.

One comment on “Hands”

  1. ‘Life is an ocean. Love is a boat. In troubled waters we keep it afloat.’ Lovely project.


Leave a Reply

